Solved – sort of. Using the Admin console on the server, I was able to undelete the legacy account, which restored all of the connections as well. It would still be nice to be able to update the ownership of connections. I am hesitant to export the connections, allow them to be deleted by the sync, and then reimport them using the new account. If that breaks the forms that use those connections, it could be a real headache.